real cialis for sale

subscribe: Posts | Comments

Samadhi Pada

Listen to sutras 1 through 8.
1.1 atha yoganusasanam

Now begins and exposition of the sacred art of yoga.

1.2 Yogas citta vrtti nirodhah

Yoga is the cessation of the movements of the consciousness.

1.3 tada drastuh svarupe vasthanam

Then the seer dwells in his own true splendor.

1.4 vrtti sarupyam itaratra

At other times the seer dwells with the fluctuating consciousness.

1.5 vrttayah pancatayah klista aklistah

The modifications of the consciousness are fivefold, they may be painful or non- painful, known or unknown.

1.6 pramana viparyaya vilkalpa nidra smrtayah

The modifications of the consciousness are right knowledge, wrong knowledge, imagination, sleep and memory.

1.7 pratyaksa anumana agamah pramanani

Right perception or correct knowledge arises from observation, inference, scriptures and teachers.

1.8 viparyayo mithya jnanam atad rupa prathistham

Misperception or false knowledge is failing to realize the true nature of an object.


Listen to sutras 12 and 13

1.12 abhyasa vairagyabhyam tannirodhah

Practice and detachment are the means to stilling the fluctuations of the consciousness.

1.13 tatra sthitau yatno bhyasah

Practice is the steadfast effort to still the fluctuations.

1.20 sraddha virya smrti smadhi prajna purvakah itaresam

Faith, courage, keen use of memory, absorption and discrimination are needed for practice.

1.21 tivra samveganam assannah

The goal is near for those who are supremely vigorous and intense in their practice.


Listen to sutra 1.33

1.33 maitri karuna mudita upeksanam sukha dukha punya apunya visayanam bhavana tas citta prasadanam

By cultivating friendliness towards the happy, compassion towards the unhappy, delight in the virtuous and indifference to pleasure and pain and virtue and vice, the consciousness becomes serene and benevolent.

1.36 visoka va jyotismati

(The mind becomes clarified) by serene, sorrowless, luminous (states experienced within).